Reps. Currie, Sente to Retire; AG Madigan Out

The continuing barrage of statehouse retirees continued this week.  However, the announcement from Attorney General Lisa Madigan today to not seek re-election in 2018 took almost everyone by surprise.  The daughter of Speaker Michael Madigan (D – Chicago) has served as the state’s top lawyer since 2003.  Replacement rumors are swirling in what is expected to be a crowded field.

Longtime House Majority Leader Barbara Flynn Currie (D- Chicago) also announced this week that she would not be seeking re-election in 2018.  BFC, as she’s often referred to, has been Speaker Madigan’s number two since Rep. Jim McPike retired in 1997.  Her first year in office was 1979. Rep. Currie’s institutional knowledge will be missed.

Also announcing her intention to not seek re-election is Rep. Carol Sente (D – Vernon Hills).  Sente has been in the General Assembly since 2009.

Adding to the list of House Republicans not seeking re-election include Representatives Mike Fortner (not seeking re-election), Patti Bellock, Bob Pritchard (not seeking re-election), Bill Mitchell (not seeking re-election), Chad Hays (not seeking re-election), Sara Wojicki-Jimenez (not seeking re-election), Steve Andersson (not seeking re-election), Brian Stewart (running for Senate seat), and Barb Wheeler (not seeking re-election).  Senate Republicans include Senators Christine Radogno (resigned), Tim Bivins (not seeking re-election) and Kyle McCarter (self imposed term limits).  House Democrats include Representatives Emily McAsey (resigned), Scott Drury (running for Governor), Cynthia Soto (running for another office), Brandon Phelps (resigned), Litesa Wallace (running to lieutenant governor), Juliana Stratton (running to lieutenant governor), Laura Fine (running for state Senate), and Elaine Nektriz (not seeking re-election).  Senate Democrats include State Senators Daniel Biss (running for governor) and Bill Haine (not seeking re-election).

That brings the total amount of Illinois lawmakers not seeking re-election in 2018 to 25.

Comments are closed.