Aurora University Presents Honorary Doctorate to Mayor Irvin

Aurora University conferred three honorary doctorates at its 125th Commencement exercises on Sunday, May 6. Aurora Mayor Richard C. Irvin is one of the recipients who received a Doctor of Humane Letters degree.

“I am extremely humbled by this honor,” said Irvin. “Thank you to the Aurora University Board of Trustees and President Dr. Rebecca Sherrick for such a prestigious recognition. Aurora University is a fine institution of higher learning and a stalwart community partner. With the utmost pride, I look forward to being in the presence of the Class of 2018 Spartans and their families.”

Mayor Irvin received his honorary doctorate during the university’s Graduate Commencement Ceremony that morning along with State Representative Robert W. Pritchard. During the Undergraduate Commencement Ceremony that afternoon, longtime educational psychologist Pearl H. Rieger received her honorary doctorate.

“I am pleased to recognize three leaders during our Commencement ceremonies who embody Aurora University’s core values of citizenship and continuous learning,” said Rebecca L. Sherrick, president of Aurora University. “These individuals have dedicated their lives to advancing the well-being of our society through efforts that promote the transformative power of learning. They are shining examples for our graduates and students as they begin to build lives of meaning and service.”

Honorary degrees are awarded by the Aurora University board of trustees. Hilary Brennan, AU alumna and chair, board of trustees, presented Rieger with the Doctor of Humane Letters. The Doctor of Humane Letters degree was presented to Irvin by Linnea Windel, AU alumna and member, board of trustees. The honorary degree was presented to Pritchard by Scott Palmer, AU alumnus and member, board of trustees.


Comments are closed.